90 day warning!

Standard

Welcome back everyone; it has been a few weeks since my last post. I really did write 2 other posts, but ultimately was not satisfied with the short length or the content might be too soon after the incident to call out.
But I received an official email from the last state I am certified as a paramedic in that my paramedic credentials will officially expire in less than 90 days and I should take immediate actions to stop that from happening…
Not going to happen…
After reading the email, I took a trip down amnesia lane, remembering all the people, places, things I learned, and experiences from my Fire and EMS days. Some were good, others very bad, but ultimately, relegated to the annals of history.
When I started medical school, I had resolved to keep my medic credentials; mostly as a way to show off my street cred after becoming a medical director. “That’s not how it works in the field,” “You don’t understand what it is like,” and my all-time favorite “you are just a spoiled doctor who cannot function outside the confines of a hospital,” are things I heard from medics on an almost daily basis, before resolving that nothing I could do and no effort I would make would ever improve EMS.
It is not that I didn’t realize it earlier. My ambition of being an EMS medical director ended sometime around my second year of med school. Mostly because I was hit in the face with the dual reality that 1) medics as labor group (profession is too unbefitting) don’t actually want to improve and 2) Medical directors are largely irrelevant to EMS. In more advanced nations, paramedics are autonomous; medical “direction” is more of an expert opinion or phoning a friend. In the US, statewide protocols and being forced to write protocols to the absolute most mindless providers makes advancing the practice all but impossible. What is more now that I think about it is agencies don’t want to advance, and will replace a medical director who doesn’t “play ball” which completely emasculates the whole idea of a “director.”
But, as I said, I have worked with many great people and despite peer pressure and all evidence to the contrary, I thought my continued involvement would give something back to the people and experiences that gave me so much.
I have done what I could, it was a good run, and it is time to move on.
“Medical director of trauma, burn, and intensive care” sounds so much more appealing anyway.
Enough of my lamenting for one day, next post back to our regularly scheduled program of thoughts on medicine.

Leave a Reply

